20180609_213833.jpg

My Thoughts:ย 

The Lost for Words Bookshop by Stephanie Butland

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4 bibliophile stars to The Lost for Words Bookshop! ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š ๐Ÿ“š

My friend, Melisa, spotted this book even before it was listed on Netgalley. When I heard about it, I knew I had to read it, too.

Loveday Cardew is an introvert known to prefer books to people. Any of us could relate to her bibliophile ways. She is fortunate to work in a bookshop of all places, and within those walls, she holds some significant secrets about her own dark past.

This story is all about Loveday. What is she hiding, and how do books help her cope? Loveday is quirky, with a sharp wit and a heart of gold. This is an emotional read as Loveday opens up, grows up, and explores her beginnings.

Ultimately, The Lost for Words Bookshop is a serendipitous ode to the books we all know and love and how they can help us escape real-life, heal ourselves, and in turn give us bountiful hope. Thereโ€™s nothing better than that, right?

Thank you to Stephanie Butland, Thomas Dunne Books, and Netgalley for the complimentary copy. The Lost for Words Bookshop will be published on June 19, 2018.

View all my reviews

Synopsis:

The Lost for Words Bookshop is a compelling, irresistible, and heart-rending novel, perfect for fans of The Storied Life of AJ Fikry and The Little Paris Bookshop.

Loveday Cardew prefers books to people. If you look carefully, you might glimpse the first lines of the novels she loves most tattooed on her skin. But there are some things Loveday will never, ever show you. Into her hiding place – the bookstore where she works – come a poet, a lover, and three suspicious deliveries. Someone has found out about her mysterious past. Will Loveday survive her own heartbreaking secrets?ย 

Have you read this book, or do you plan to? Have you read any books that cater to bibliophiles? Happy Reading! ~ Jennifer THRย